Toreros nearing D-I record entering 2020 season

NCAA Football
This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(Stats Perform) – San Diego won’t just chase another Pioneer Football League title this year, it will go after Division I history.

The Toreros have a 37-game league winning streak entering their 2020 schedule, which was announced Tuesday. That is the second-longest run in Division I history and two shy of the record set by Duquesne with 39 straight MAAC wins from 1999-2006.

After San Diego opens the season with two straight FCS non-league games, its first three PFL games are at Valparaiso (Sept. 26), against Butler (Oct. 3) and at Morehead State (Oct. 10).

The Toreros finished 9-3 under coach Dale Lindsey last season and have won six consecutive PFL championships and eight of the last nine.


2020 San Diego Schedule

Sept. 5, at UC Davis

Sept. 19, at Cal Poly

Sept. 26, at Valparaiso*

Oct. 3, Butler*

Oct. 10, at Morehead State*

Oct. 17, Stetson*

Oct. 24, Dayton*

Oct. 31, at Drake*

Nov. 7, Davidson*

Nov. 14, at Marist*

Nov. 21, Georgetown

*- PFL game

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Now Trending on

Video Forecast

Winter storm slowly coming to an end, freezing fog for some

More Weather Video Forecast
Albuquerque Hourly Forecast

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss