North Central highlights AP Division III All-America Team

NCAA Football
This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

North Central placed five players on The Associated Press Division III All-America team, including quarterback Broc Rutter, in a season that will end with its first appearance in the NCAA championship game.

The team, presented by Regions Bank and released Thursday, was chosen by a panel of sports information directors and the AP.

North Central, which beat perennial powerhouse Mount Union in the second round of the playoffs, will face Wisconsin-Whitewater on Friday for the national title.

Rutter, a finalist for the Gagliardi Trophy given to Division III’s best player, is joined on the first team by four teammates: running back Ethan Greenfield, offensive lineman Sharmore Clarke, receiver Andrew Kamienski and defensive back Jake Beesley.

Whitewater was represented on the first team by offensive lineman Quinn Meinerz.

Birmingham-Southern running back Robert Shufford, another Gagliardi finalist, also made the first team.



Quarterback – Broc Rutter, senior, North Central (Ill.).

Running backs – Robert Shufford, junior, Birmingham-Southern; Ethan Greenfield, sophomore, North Central (Ill.).

Linemen – Sharmore Clarke, junior, North Central (Ill.); Quinn Meinerz, junior, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Nic Vetter, senior, Wartburg; Sean Sherman, senior, Mount Union; Dan Greenheck, senior, St. John’s.

Tight end – Ryan Curtiss, senior, Muhlenberg.

Receivers – Andrew Kamienski, junior, North Central (Ill.); Justin Hill, senior, Mount Union.

All-purpose player – Willie Julkes III, senior, Concordia-Moorhead.

Kicker – Anthony Avila, sophomore, Mary Hardin-Baylor.


Linemen – Frankie Feaster, senior, Muhlenberg; Dallas McRae, senior, Wheaton (Ill.); Joey Longoria, senior, Mary Hardin-Baylor; Michael Nobile, sophomore, Delaware Valley.

Linebackers – Scottie Bobeck, senior, Benedictine; Dante Capozzoli, junior, Kean; Anton Clark, senior, East Texas Baptist.

Secondary – Jeff Hector, senior, Redlands; Spencer Rowland, senior, Wheaton (Ill.); Jake Beesley, junior, North Central (Ill.); Kordell Ford, junior, Mount Union.

Punter – Zach Warcola, senior, College of New Jersey.



Quarterback �� Jackson Erdmann, senior, St.John’s.

Running backs – Alex Minton, senior, Denison; Wesley Schools, senior, Grove City.

Linemen – Ben Bartch, senior, St. John’s; Joe Krall, senior, Monmouth (Ill.); Tyler Norwood, senior, Salisbury; Ryan Malarkey, senior, Muhlenberg; Steven Sellers, junior, Mary Hardin-Baylor.

Tight end – Dan Allen, senior, Delaware Valley.

Receivers – Ruhann Peele, senior, Wesley (Del.); Ravi Alston, sophomore, St. John’s; Samuel Staehling, senior, St. Norbert.

All-purpose player – Brock Martin, sophomore, Ohio Northern.

Kicker – Jaydon Haaq, sophomore, Wisconsin-Oshkosh.


Linemen – Jordan McInerney, senior, Lake Forest; Danny Pietruszewski, junior, St. John’s; Tim Ousley, senior, Muskingum; Mike Williams, senior, Washington & Jefferson.

Linebackers – Mason Dekker, senior, Hope; Emmet Forde, junior, Hobart; Nick Garone, senior, Ithaca.

Secondary – Peyton Haynes, senior, LaGrange; Blaze Barista, senior, Dubuque; Danial Shelton, senior, Susquehanna; Tramon Wiley, junior, Heidelberg.

Punter – Alex Berg, senior, Concordia-Moorhead.

Follow Ralph D. Russo at and listen

More AP college football: and and

More on Regions Bank:

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Now Trending on

Video Forecast

Grant's Tuesday Evening Forecast

More Weather Video Forecast
Albuquerque Hourly Forecast

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss