SANTA FE, N.M. (KRQE) – Monday, the Presidential Electors of New Mexico officially cast their five votes for Joe Biden for president and Kamala Harris for vice president of the United States. According to Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver, Joe Biden and Kamala Harris received 501,614 votes in New Mexico during the 2020 General Election, with a total statewide voter turnout of 928,230. President Donald Trump and Mike Pence received 401,894 votes during the 2020 General Election in New Mexico. The official election results were certified by the State Canvassing Board on November 24, 2020 following an independent audit.

New Mexico 2020 Presidential Electors include:

  • Vince Alvarado – President of New Mexico Federation of Labor 
  • Stephanie Thomas – Chair of the Chaves County Democratic Party
  • Ben Salazar – Co-coordinator Democratic Party Hispanic Caucus
  • Brianna Gallegos – President of the New Mexico Young Democrats of America
  • Tweety Suazo Chair, Native American Democratic Caucus of New Mexico

Presidential electors from across the country will be meeting on Monday to formally choose the nation’s next president. According to law, electors meet on the first Monday after the second Wednesday in December. The results will be sent to Washington and in a joint session of Congress, will be tallied on January 6.

Joe Biden had 306 electoral votes while President Donald Trump had 232. To be elected, 270 votes are needed. The official Electoral College vote certifications from New Mexico will be submitted to the President of the United States Senate and to the Office of the National Archives in Washington DC. On January 6, 2020 Congress shall meet to count the electoral votes of each state.

Latest Politics/Government News: