ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (KRQE) – Albuquerque City Councilors meet for the first time since four new councilors were sworn in. That includes Councilors Renne Grout, Dan Lewis, Louie Sanchez, and Tammy Fiebelkorn.

Story continues below:

On Monday, councilors elected Isaac Benton as the president and Dan Lewis as the vice president. They will also approve committee appointments. Lewis has already announced a plan to introduce four pieces of legislation at the first full meeting on Jan. 19. One proposes re-negotiating the term of the Justice Department’s oversight of the police department while another would repeal a gross receipts tax.

Lewis is also pushing a pair of pandemic-related proposals. One would limit the mayor’s emergency powers and the other would bar the city from imposing a vaccine mandate on its employees.