ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (KRQE) – It’s been a challenging two years for Albuquerque Public Schools, navigating the pandemic. For the first time during a city election, voters had the chance to choose who they want to see on the APS board.

Story continues below

With four open seats on the ballot, no incumbents sought re-election. Right now, in District 3, Daniele Gonzales is leading with 42% of votes to take Lorenzo Garcia’s seat. In District 5, Crystal Tapia Romero is taking the lead with 53% to take Candelaria Patterson’s seat.

In District 6, Josefina Dominguez is taking the lead with 55% of votes to take Elizabeth Armijo’s seat and in District 7, Courtney Jackson is taking the lead with 46% of votes to take Dr. David Peercy’s seat.