NEW MEXICO (KRQE) – Voters will head to the polls Tuesday, June 1 for the First Congressional District Special Election. Democrat Melanie Stansbury, Republican Mark Moores, Libertarian Chris Manning, and Independent Aubrey Dunn will appear on the ballot.

They’re looking to replace Deb Haaland who is now serving as the U.S. Secretary of the Interior. The last time a Republican won CD1 was back in 2006.

Voters KRQE News 13 spoke with say Tuesday’s election is especially significant. “I certainly think it’s historic and I think it kind of puts New Mexico in a special place where we can actually maybe not just effect change locally, but maybe set the standard,” said voter Chris Baca.

“That’s part of our civic duty right? Doing our part, you know, making sure we show up. Regardless of who we believe in or what we believe in, this is part of our duty to get it done,” said voter Joaquin Baca.

Meet the Candidates

Early voting wrapped up this weekend with more than 93,000 people casting a ballot. Most of those voters were Democrats. The polls on Tuesday will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.