NEW MEXICO (KRQE) – Although there are many things can do to change the appearance of their vehicle, in New Mexico, registration plates have some strict rules against modifications. One modification seen a lot on the streets is tinted license plate covers.
Story continues below:
- Crime: Suspect linked to 11-year-old’s killing near Isotopes Park to be released from custody
- Local: Eight New Mexico high schoolers to be featured in new video series
- Entertainment: Premiere date released for Nathan Fielder and Emma Stone’s new series set in New Mexico
- New Mexico: City lays out plan for stadium at Balloon Fiesta Park, including additional parking
As New Mexico statute 66-3-18-A states, a registration plate “shall be in a place and position so as to be clearly visible, and it shall be maintained free from foreign material and in a condition to be clearly legible.” So, under the law, putting any kind of cover over a license plate would not be legal.
The result of being caught is a $25 penalty, but other fees can be included. If the infraction happens in a county without a metropolitan court, there will be an additional $20 tacked on. For counties with a metropolitan court, like Bernalillo, there’s a $24 fee.