New Mexico’s newest members of Congress sworn in

New Mexico

New Mexico’s newest members of Congress are among those slated to be sworn in Thursday as the 116th Congress prepares to take office.

That includes soon-to-be congresswomen Deb Haaland and Xochitl Torres Small.

Haaland will be one of the first Native American women to serve in Congress and is a member of the Laguna Pueblo. Haaland most recently chaired the state’s Democratic Party, and before that ran for lieutenant governor in 2014.

She says she’s proud to represent New Mexico and is looking forward to working with a Congress that’s so diverse.

“I am proud to serve with so many women of color. Those perspectives, those beliefs will be so important to moving our country forward, and I’m gonna just work as hard as I can. Build the relationships that I can to make sure that I’m doing the best job for New Mexico,” said Haaland.

Haaland says her biggest focus this year will be fighting climate change, moving the state towards renewable energy.

Torres Small will also take office Thursday, representing New Mexico’s Second Congressional District. This is her first time holding a public office.

District Two is one of the many districts across the country that flipped to Democratic control and is helping the Democratic Party gain the majority in the House of Representatives.

She will replace outgoing Rep. Steve Pearce.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

Now Trending on

Video Forecast

Grant's Tuesday Evening Forecast

More Weather Video Forecast
Albuquerque Hourly Forecast

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss