Governor Lujan Grisham appoints 5 regents to UNM

new regents_1549759926757.jpg.jpg

Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham appointed five new University of New Mexico Regents.

The governor announced Sunday that she’s tapped Kimberly Sanchez Rael, Sandra Begay, Robert Schwartz, Douglas Brown, and student Melissa Henry for the board.

Begay and Brown will serve four-year terms while Sanchez Rael and Schwartz will serve six-year terms. Henry will serve a two-year term.

The appointments will still need to be confirmed by the New Mexico Senate. In December as governor-elect, Lujan Grisham announced that advisory committees would make recommendations for the appointments of regents after candidates had background checks.

The remaining two spots will continue to be held by Robert Doughty and Marron Lee through 2020.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Enter to Win

Don't Miss