2021 APS School Board Election – Who’s running?


ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (KRQE) – The Albuquerque Public School Board election is a part of the Albuquerque Regular Local Election on November 2. The school board election was added to the regular election as part of the Local Election Act, passed in 2018.

Voter Information

What district seats of the school board will be voted on?

Four out of the seven current board members will have seats up for grabs:

  • Lorenzo L. Garcia – Vice President and Audit; District 3
  • Candelaria Patterson – District Equity and Inclusion; District 5
  • Elizabeth Armijo – Capital outlay, Property, and Technology; District 6
  • Dr. David E. Peercy – President; District 7

Who will be running?

The deadline for candidacy in the school board election is August 24, 2021.* Candidates will be identified after this date. All current board members are eligible to run for re-election.

*Note: This page will continue to be updated with newly announced candidates and ballot information as it’s released.


District 3 (Albuquerque, Valley High School Area)

District 3 Map

District 5 (West Messa High School Area)

District 5 Map

District 6 (Eldorado, Manzano, Sandia High School Area)

District 6 Map

District 7 (Del Norte, La Cueva High School Area)

District 7 Map

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

Now Trending on KRQE.com

New Mexico Hourly Forecasts ⟶

Albuquerque Hourly Forecast

Don't Miss


Photo Galleries


News Resources - Maps