NEW MEXICO (KRQE) – The Department of Workforce Solutions reminded both employers and workers that the minimum wage in New Mexico is set to increase beginning Friday, January 1, 2021. The state’s minimum wage will now be set at $10.50 an hour, an increase from $9.00 and the state tipped wage will be set at $2.55 an hour, an increase from $2.35 an hour.
This is in accordance with the amendment to the New Mexico Minimum Wage Act, signed into law by Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham on April 1, 2019. Employers are required to post the New Mexico Minimum Wage Act Summary Poster in a place where all employees can see it.
This increase is the second year in a row the New Mexico Minimum Wage Act follows the governor’s bill to increase the state’s minimum wage over time. This began in January 2020, when workers got a $1.50 bump in pay. The increase continues in 2021, with $10.50 an hour, continuing in 2022 to $11.50 per hour, and finally, by 2023, the state’s minimum wage will be $12.00 per hour.
- Belen airport receives federal funding under infrastructure law
- New Mexico lawmakers return to Roundhouse for 30-day session
- Hobbs Municipal Court temporarily closes to the public
- WATCH NOW: New Mexico governor delivers State of the State address
- KRQE Newsfeed: Gun storage, Anti-crime bills, Windy day, Plastic bag repeal, Leaving a legacy