SANTA FE (AP) – A Senate committee has passed a bill that would keep New Mexicans from springing forward and falling back every year when it’s time to adjust clocks.

The Senate Public Affairs Committee voted 5-1 Thursday to advance Sen. Cliff Pirtle’s bill that would keep the state on daylight saving time year-round.

The Republican farmer from Roswell says changing the clock twice a year is an unnecessary inconvenience. He says farmers and ranchers work from sunrise to sundown no matter what the clock says.

Pirtle’s bill now moves to the Senate Judiciary Committee. If it becomes law, The time in New Mexico would remain unchanged after it springs forward March 8.

The federal government allows states to exempt themselves from time changes. Arizona and Hawaii do not observe daylight saving time.