What are New Mexico’s Travel Restrictions?

Coronavirus Resources

Frequently Asked Questions

Antonito, CO – October 3, 2019: Welcome to New Mexico Sign near the Colorado – New Mexico Border

Thursday, Feb. 11, 2021, the state will no longer require self-quarantine for visitors or New Mexicans arriving into the state from “high-risk” states, or states with a 5% positivity rate or greater over a 7-day rolling average, or a positive test rate greater than 80 per 1 million residents.

According to the rescinded order, the State advises:

All persons who have arrived in New Mexico from another state or from outside the United States are recommended to self-isolate or self-quarantine for a period of at least 14 days from the date of their entry into the State of New Mexico or for the duration of their presence in the State, whichever is shorter.

Travelers arriving in New Mexico should be tested for COVID-19 as promptly as possible following their arrival to New Mexico.

Q: What are the high-risk & low-risk states?

A: The website COVIDExitStrategy.org provides a map of states meeting gating criteria (map displays cases per million by state; typically those that are green and yellow are determined to be low-risk states).

Q: What about visiting State Parks?

A: Day-use is open for all visitors. Camping will reopen to all visitors by reservation only beginning February 27th.

Several state parks are currently managing for seasonal closures and it is important for visitors to continue to check for details on specific park hours of operation and additional information before visiting. Check the State Parks website and know before you go.

State Parks advises the additional guidance is still in place:

Additional guidance:

  • Wearing a mask or cloth face covering is mandatory in public settings except when eating, drinking, or swimming or unless a healthcare provider instructs otherwise, and violators could face citations and $100 fines for not complying voluntarily.
  • Group size varies by county, check the status of your county before traveling to a State Park
  • Bring hand sanitizer and additional personal protective equipment
  • Maintain social distance of 6 feet or more while recreating
  • Trails will be open; some water access is limited at this time due to seasonal conditions.
  • No group shelter use or large organized events
  • To limit interactions, please use exact change when paying fees or purchase passes online
  • Recreate responsibly and pack out all trash

Q: If I travel to New Mexico do I have to wear a mask?

A: Yes. Mask-wearing is mandatory in public for all individuals over the age of two, except when eating or drinking. Masks are required for all activities indoor or outdoor. This includes gyms, malls, grocery stores, private businesses, golf courses, shooting ranges, walking spaces and when sitting down at restaurants prior to being served.

Q: Is there a punishment if I choose not to wear a mask?

A: Yes. If caught without a mask in public, you are subject to a $100 fine.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

Now Trending on KRQE.com

New Mexico Hourly Forecasts ⟶

Albuquerque Hourly Forecast

Don't Miss

MORE IN DON'T MISS

Photo Galleries

MORE PHOTO GALLERIES

News Resources - Maps

MORE NEWS RESOURCES