State modifies Red-Green framework, now includes new Turquoise Level

Coronavirus New Mexico

SANTA FE, N.M. (KRQE) – The state of New Mexico has modified its Red-Yellow-Green framework to allow for more day-to-day and commercial activities to reflect the improving COVID-19 outlook across the state. The framework includes a new least restrictive level where all categories of business can operate indoors with minimal occupancy limitations depending on the risk level of the activity.

A county reaches this least restrictive level, known as the Turquoise Level when it meets key health criteria for two consecutive two-week periods and graduates out of the Red, Yellow, Green framework provided the virus remains suppressed. The framework assigns a risk level and a corresponding color to counties in New Mexico based on health metrics over a two-week timeframe.

The governor’s office explains that the metrics, a test positivity rate below 5% and a new per-capita case rate of fewer than eight per 100,000, measure the incidence and spread of COVID-19 in any given community. A county that meets one of the criteria can operate at the Yellow Level, a county that meets both criteria may operate at the Green Level, and counties that cannot meet either of the criteria must operate at the Red Level.

As of February 24, Catron, Harding, Sierra, and Union can now operate at the Turquoise Level. NMDOH reports Bernalillo, Chaves, Cibola, Colfax, Curry, Grant, Guadalupe, Hidalgo, Lea, Lincoln, Luna, Rio Arriba, Roosevelt, San Juan, San Miguel, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Socorro, and Valencia counties are at the Yellow Level. Meanwhile, De Baca, Los Alamos, Mora, Quay, Taos, and Torrance counties can now operate at the Green Level.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest Video

Now Trending on

New Mexico Hourly Forecasts ⟶

Albuquerque Hourly Forecast

Don't Miss


Photo Galleries


News Resources - Maps