SANTA FE (KRQE) - New Mexico is a step closer to adopting a statewide ban on texting while driving.
On Tuesday, the House overwhelmingly approved the plan. It still has to go to the Senate and then to the Governor.
If approved, the fine for texting while driving will be $25. But, in the City of Albuquerque, an existing texting ban costs drivers a $100 for a first offense, then $200 for every subsequent violation.
The Mayor's office tells News 13 that if the new bill passes, APD officers would essentially have the discretion to ticket a texting driver either $25 or $100.
That doesn't sit well with many drivers.
"I don't like that at all," driver Jay Bickford said. "It should just be a standard fine."
Others say Albuquerque should be able to follow it's own law.
"I think that's the state government allowing the municipal government to control its own policing, so I think that's a good thing, because they are going to choose, obviously, the $100 fine," driver Will Morrison said.
Thirty states have already banned texting while driving.
Two Hobbs men face capital murder charges in Texas after being charged with the death of a woman whose body was dumped in New Mexico.
Thieves broke into an Albuquerque fire station while the firefighters were off helping kids.
UNM athletics is rolling out a new points program to determine which fans get access to The Pit's best seats, postseason tickets and prime parking spots.
A recent Christmas Eve tradition that's become increasingly popular in Santa Fe has been shot down.
Police said a homeowner and his 11-year-old son stopped two burglars dead in their tracks. They walked in on the alleged heist, but weren't about to let the suspected thieves get away with it, and they got creative with the way they …
What happened to one of four local officers shot in a dramatic October chase now has the attention of city, county, and even state lawmakers as they discuss proposing a policy that would ensure she will be the last first responder to get …